California Trailer Plates Or Maine Trailer Plates And Its Registration
May 24, 2021 0California Trailer PlatesMaine Trailer Plate
Whether you recently bought your trailer or just moved to a new state in the US, you need to register your trailer to obtain a trailer plate. It is illegal to drive a trailer without a plate number therefore, a trailer plate must be registered and attached to the trailer for identification purposes. Before you can get a trailer plate, you must follow all the procedures for its registration. This includes a certificate of entitlement, proof of identification, tax bill, vehicle registration documents, bank details, driver’s licenses, and many more. Obtaining a California trailer plates, or Maine trailer plates is quite easy and hassle-free but can sometimes take a long time which can delay your trailer from operating. This is why you need to contact Global Multi Services for quick and error-free registration. We can also help you get a personalized Oklahoma trailer plate for your trailer.
Trailer Registration Requirements
Although every state has different laws for registration, most states require you to register your trailer within 30days of purchase. The registration fee and process vary from state to state and the penalties for not registering are severe in most of the states. Here are some of the requirements for trailer registration.
Identification Of Ownership
Before your trailer is registered by the Department of Motor Vehicle, you need to provide all the required documents. These include a driver’s license, a signed title to verify you are the owner of the trailer, tax receipt. A bill of sale that contains the basic information of the trailer such as year of production, weight, ID, and model.
Application For Registration
Fill and submit your application form to the Department of Motor Vehicles. All necessary information should be filled in without error such as Vehicle Identification Number, brand, title application, and others. Without a title, you might not be issued a trailer plate which means you will not be able to drive on a public road.
Payment Of Registration Fee
After submitting your application form to the Department of Motor Vehicle, you will be required to pay a registration fee. The amount varies from state to state and also depends on the trailer weight and other factors.
How To Obtain California Trailer Plate
Here are the steps to obtain a California trailer Plate:-
Register With The California Department Of Motor Vehicle
You must contact the California Department of Motor Vehicle within 10 days of purchase to make an appointment for your trailer registration. But if you purchase through a dealer, the dealer might help you with the whole process. According to the DMV, here are the documents you need to complete your registration.
- Complete application form
- Proof of ownership.
- Vehicle license fee
- Vehicle identification number
- Bill of sale
- Tax and registration fee
Change Of Address
Trailer owners with new California residents can report a change of address to the California Department of Motor Vehicles within 10days of moving to notify the department. This can be achieved by using the change of address form on the DMV website.
License Plate Request
There are different types of California trailer plates and before you request a license plate, you need to know the type of trailer plate you need. You can obtain a special interest trailer plate, a plate that allows you to customize your plate to your preference. Or go for a standard trailer license plate.
A permanent trailer identification trailer plate can also be obtained for permanently parked trailers. The processing of the trailer plate often takes between four to eight weeks and is mailed directly to the address on your California Department of Motor Vehicle vehicle record. You need to put your trailer plate on your trailer for identification and verification after receiving it.